Shopping Cart

Jazz Center Stage Store

Johnny Hodges: Blues A Plenty LP (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series)

Johnny Hodges

Johnny Hodges was perhaps the most important soloist and sideman in Duke Ellington's orchestra for nearly 50 years. The self-taught player made many solo forays during his long career, including this 1958 session showcasing the great alto saxophonist backed by an all-star group including Ben Webster & Billy Strayhorn. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.


Side A
1. I Didn't Know About You
2. Cool Your Motor
3. Gone With The Wind
4. Honey Hill
5. Blues A-Plenty
6. Don’t Take Your Love From Me

Side B
1. Saturday Afternoon Blues
2. Satin Doll
3. Reeling and Rocking