Shopping Cart

Jazz Center Stage Store

Sonny Stitt: Blows The Blues LP (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series)

Sonny Stitt

Though some critics foolishly tried to label Stitt as a Charlie Parker clone, Stitt certainly kept them quiet on this 1959 date. Stitt’s originals, like the slow and powerful “Morning After Blues," come off as  fresh-sounding as executed by this quartet of Lou Levy, Mel Lewis and Leroy Vinnegar. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.


Side A
1. You Make Me Feel So Young
2. Come Dance With Me
3. Witchcraft
4. The Tender Trap
5. Saturday Night (Is The Loneliest Night In The Week)

Side B
1. Just In Time
2. It Happened In Monterey
3. I Get A Kick Out Of You
4. All Of Me
5. Birth Of The Blues
6. How About You