Shopping Cart

Jazz Center Stage Store

John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) LP

John Coltrane

This beloved 1963 Impulse! LP is a career highlight for both Johnny Hartman and John Coltrane. Hartman was apparently Coltrane's suggestion for the recording date, and his deep, dark voice meshes perfectly here with Coltrane's tenor. The material is well-chosen, including definitive readings of "My One and Only Love" and "Lush Life." McCoy Tyner fills out the chords, augmenting the harmonies and keeping the tone of these ballads respectful but not overly sentimental. All the players get to the deep structure of the songs and are not afraid to play in the most essential and elegant manner.

Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from the original analog tapes mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at QPR. The series is supervised by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, and releases are presented in deluxe gatefold tip-on packaging.


Impulse! / 1963
1. They Say It's Wonderful 5’15 (SIDE A)
2. Dedicated To You 5’27 (SIDE A)
3. My One And Only Love 4’50 (SIDE A)
4. Lush Life 5’20 (SIDE B)
5. You Are Too Beautiful 5’32 (SIDE B)
6. Autumn Serenade 4’11 (SIDE B)
John Coltrane (tenor sax); Johnny Hartman (vocals);
McCoy Tyner (piano); Jimmy Garrison (double bass); Elvin Jones (drums)