Shopping Cart

Jazz Center Stage Store

Dorothy Ashby: The Rubáiyát Of Dorothy Ashby LP (Verve By Request Series)

Dorothy Ashby

Released on the Cadet label in 1970, this album’s wondrous mix of spiritual and funky jazz and unique instrumentation defy categorization. Harpist Ashby adds the koto, a 13-stringed Japanese instrument to her arsenal, and her long-time arranger Richard Evans blends flutes, vibraphone, oboe, kalimba and Ashby’s own vocals into a singular and soul-affirming set.


Side A
1. Myself When Young 
2. For Some We Loved 
3. Wax And Wane 
4. Drink 
5. Wine

Side B
1. Dust
2. Joyful Grass And Grape 
3. Shadow Shapes 
4. Heaven And Hell 
5. The Moving Finger 

Dorothy Ashby (harp, vocals)

This Verve By Request title is pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Third Man in Detroit.