Shopping Cart

Jazz Center Stage Store

Dizzy Gillespie: The Ebullient Mr. Gillespie LP (Verve By Request Series)

The band Gillespie assembled for this date – Junior Mance, Les Spann, Sam Jones, & Lex Humphries - was for the most part a working band on the club & concert circuit, offering a mixture of Gillespie’s entertaining songs, established repertoire, & some Latin & African-influenced pieces. With them, Dizzy found a middle ground in his music that gave his legacy room to breathe, but with much more rhythmic variety. The Verve By Request Series features 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.


Side A
1. Swing Low
2. Always
3. Willow Weep For Me
4. Ungawa

Side B
1. Lorraine
2. Girl Of My Dreams
3. Constantinople
4. The Umbrella Man