Shopping Cart

Jazz Center Stage Store

Abbey Lincoln, Hank Jones: When There Is Love 2LP

Abbey Lincoln

In her intimate 1992 recording with jazz piano legend Hank Jones, Abbey Lincoln contemplates the subject of love, sounding more optimistic than usual. Lincoln noted: “I have a sombre outlook and assessment of the world in which we live, but I also have love, love for the beautiful man that makes life bearable in an otherwise unbearable world. So this is my offering on the altar of conjugal love.” She offers highly personalized interpretations of four of her originals and ten standards, among which Duke Ellington's "Black Butterfly," "The Nearness of You," "You Came a Long Way from St. Louis," Fats Waller's "Jitterbug Waltz" and "You Won't Forget Me" are most memorable.


Side A
1. A Part Of Me / There Are Such Things
2. When There Is Love
3. Black Butterfly
4. Angel Face

Side B
1. The Nearness Of You
2. Can't Help Singing
3. Close Your Eyes
4. I Should Care

Side C
1. You Came A Long Way From St. Louis
2. C'est si bon
3. The Jitterbug Waltz

Side D
1. Time After Time
2. You Won't Forget Me
3. First Came A Woman