Shopping Cart

Jazz Center Stage Store

Tori Amos: The Light Princess 2CD

Tori Amos

The Light Princess is Tori Amos’ first musical, which debuted to great critical acclaim at the National Theatre in 2013. The album features the original London cast, recorded entirely under studio conditions. The musical is a "dark fairy tale about grief, rebellion and the power of love" based on a 19th century fairy tale by George Macdonald.

With book and lyrics co-written by Tori Amos and Samuel Adamson, the story centres around teenage princess Althea of Lagobel who lost gravity when refusing to mourn over her mother’s death and is therefore bound to float above ground. When war breaks out Althea, pushed by her father to come to ground and take responsibility, flees only to fall in love with the rivalling kingdoms prince.

As a special bonus, the album, which was recorded over the last two years will include two songs from the musical performed by Tori herself for the very first time. This 2 CD set comes in a beautiful digipack with 32p booklet including the complete libretto and photos from the London production.

Disc 1
1. Prologue: Once
2. Upon a Time
3. My Own Land
4. My Fairy-story
5. Queen Material
6. Sealand Supremacy
7. Zephyrus Call & Levity
8. Althea
9. Scandal
10. The Gauntlet
11. Better Than Good
12. The Solution
13. Highness in the Sky
14. Proverbs & Let the Bells Ring & God, the Horror
15. No H20
16. Zephyrus Call reprise & Althea reprise
17. Darkest Hour
18. After Darkest Hour

Disc 2
1. Amphibiava
2. Tinkle, Drizzle, Bubble and Gush
3. Nothing More Than This, Part One
4. Part Two: Queen of the Lake
5. Drought
6. The Whistleblower
7. My Little Girl's Smile
8. Bitter Fate
9. The Wedding
10. Crash in the Universe
11. Tears
12. Gravity & Epilogue: Once Upon a Time
13. Coronation
14. Gravity