Shopping Cart

Jazz Center Stage Store

Bill Evans: Conversations With Myself (Back To Black) LP

Bill Evans

Vinyl LP pressing. Recorded at three different studio sessions on February 6 and 9, and May 20, 1963, Evans recorded the album using the then-controversial method of overdubbing three different yet corresponding piano tracks for each song. It's an interesting combination of counterpointed lines and chords that Evans employs, with differing tempos and shadings that complement rather than contrast. Additionally, the usage of angular dialect à la Thelonious Monk and the witty discourse he can conjure with his own styles thicken and broaden the horizons of the usually spare harmonic inventions the pianist expresses on his own.


Side A
1. 'Round Midnight
2. How About You?
3. Love Theme From 'Spartacus'
4. Blue Monk

Side B
1. Stella By Starlight
2. Hey There
3. N.Y.C.'s No Lark
4. Just You, Just Me