Shopping Cart

Jazz Center Stage Store

Betty Carter: The Modern Sound Of Betty Carter LP (Verve By Request Series)

Betty Carter

This 1960 album’s inventive Richard Weiss arrangements combine with Carter’s uniquely masterful – and modern - vocals for fresh takes on standards. Highlights include a lively run through “What A Little Moonlight Can Do”, inspired scatting on “On The Alamo” and a beautifully tender take on “There’s No You”. The Verve By Request Series features 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.


Side A 
1. What A Little Moonlight Can Do 
2. There's No You 
3. I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire 
4. Remember 
5. My Reverie 
6. Mean To Me 

Side B
1. Don't Weep For The Lady 
2. Jazz (Ain't Nothin' But Soul) 
3. For You 
4. Stormy Weather (Keeps Rainin' All The Time) 
5. At Sundown 
6. On The Alamo